Go Live on Facebook

Broadcast to the largest audience in the world with the camera in your pocket

Indicator to scroll down

Have engaging conversations with your followers

Live is the best way to interact with viewers in real time. Field their burning questions, hear what's on their mind and check out their Live Reactions to gauge how your broadcast is going.

Reach new audiences in new ways

People love watching video, which is why we've built a dedicated place to watch this engaging content on Facebook. While your current fans will be able to keep up here and in News Feed, the experience will help new followers discover you too.

Connect—instantly

Live lets you connect with the people who care most. Your followers can receive notifications when you go live so they know to tune in to your broadcasts at just the right time.

Tell your story, your way

With creative tools like filters, it's easy to express yourself in ways that delight your followers and make it even more fun.

Getting Started

Going Live with Facebook

Going Live with Facebook

1. Tap “What's on your mind” at the top of News Feed.

Image showing Facebook's composer input field

2. Select “Live Video” from the dropdown menu.

Image showing Live Icon

3. Add a description and choose your audience before hitting "Go Live." You'll see a three-second countdown before your broadcast begins!

Going Live with Mentions

Going Live with Mentions

1. Tap the Post button at the bottom of your screen.

Image showing Facebook's post option

2. Select “Live Video” from the dropdown menu.

Image showing Live Icon

3. Add a description and choose your audience before hitting "Go Live." You'll see a three-second countdown before your broadcast begins!

FAQs

What is Facebook Live?

Live lets people, public figures and Pages share live video with their followers and friends on Facebook.

Is Live available to everyone on Facebook?

Live is available to all Pages and profiles on Facebook for iOS, Android, and Facebook Mentions.

How do I know if a video is live?

There will be a red icon at the top left-hand corner of the video indicating that it is a live video. The word “Live” is written next to the icon, along with the number of current viewers.

What happens to the Live video after the broadcast ends?

The video will be published to the Page or profile so that fans and friends who missed it can watch at a later time. The broadcaster can remove the video post at any time, just like any other post.

Where do Live videos show up on Facebook?

Videos will appear in News Feed and on the broadcaster's Page or profile while they are live. Once a broadcast has ended, live videos are eligible to show up everywhere that other videos appear.

How do you rank live videos in News Feed?

We recently made a small update to News Feed so that Facebook Live videos are more likely to appear higher in News Feed when those videos are actually live, compared to after they are no longer live.

Can I control and customize my audience for live videos on Facebook?

If you're a Page, you can apply control and customization settings to the video on the broadcast after it has ended.

Is there a time limit for Live broadcasts?

Live broadcasts can last up to 4 hours.

What sort of connection do I need to go Live?

We recommend that you have a strong signal before going live. WiFi tends to work best, but if you can't find a nearby network, you'll want a 4G connection. To check your internet speed ahead of time, download the Speedtest app from the App Store or Google Play.

How can people discover live broadcasts on Facebook?

People can discover live videos right in News Feed. To get notified when certain a broadcaster goes live, tap the "Live Subscribe" button on the top of a live video to get notified when that person or Page goes live again. People who frequently engage with or have recently interacted with a person or Page going Live may receive a notification.

Can people report videos?

As with all videos and content on Facebook, we have reporting tools in place to enable people on Facebook to report content that they believe violates our community standards. Our teams will review those reports, and if content violates our standards it will be removed.